

THE COMMUNITY CHURCH

United Church of Christ

1000 GRAVENSTEIN HWY NORTH
P.O. Box 579 SEBASTOPOL, CALIFORNIA 95473
TELEPHONE 707.823.2484 FAX 707.823.9597
WWW.UCCSEB.ORG

April 13, 2016

Dear Church Families,

Over the last several months, the Transition Committee has been working with our ministerial staff and Diaconate Board to ensure the congregation's ministerial needs are met after Gene's departure. We are fortunate that we have Lydia, Rachel, and Brian on staff and they are committed to provide for your pastoral needs during this time. Although summer vacations and youth trips/camps may create voids in their schedules at times, we are certain there is enough overlap in their schedules to provide support. In addition, we are contacting other local ministers to "be on call" as well. Please contact the church office to request pastoral support. The ministerial staff and Diaconate Board will work together to provide the support requested.

Our summer Worship services will continue to be comprised of interest centers for our children along with our special summer music series. In addition to our wonderful preachers on staff, the Diaconate Board has been coordinating a series of special summer guest preachers. More information will follow, but some of the guest preachers include.

- Davena Jones (Conference Minister)
- Lizann Bassham (Former Associate Pastor at the Community Church)
- Peter Skaife (a retired UCC Minister)
- Charles Ensley (a retired UCC Minister)
- Rob McClelland (Pastor at the Westminster Presbyterian Church in Tiburon)
- Alan Kelchner (Former Preaching Professor)

Additionally, the St. Petersburg Choir will treat us to their special music on a Sunday in May. I am certain that we will all be enlightened by the variety of these great guest preachers and blessed by the diverse special summer music.

Please contact any member of the Transition Committee or Diaconate Board if you have concerns or suggestions.

Sincerely,

Dan Rasmus
Transition Committee Chairperson

Transition Committee: Joyce Cox, Jane Huneke, Roger Wilson, Chris Dawson, Kathy Bell

Diaconate Board: Barbara Whitson, Garth Watson, Dale Phillips, Laurie Mitchell, Eva Norton, Kathy Matthies, Warren Brisbin, Kathy Bell, Bobbie Johanson, Marie Cotton, Lisa Dawson, Sharon Olson, Pamela Downie, Glenda Elvy, Jane Huneke.